11 Replies Latest reply: Apr 28, 2013 9:26 AM by plcmms
plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

I've been trying to learn about iCloud and have activated only one service, Contacts, while I try to figure out how it works.  My laptop and iPhone both have this service turned ON.  I deleted a Group in Contacts on my laptop the other day and now I have decided that I need this Group back.  When I restore Contacts using Time Machine from before the time I deleted the Group the iCloud copy of Contacts overwrites the restored copy and returns me to the version without the Group.  I understand that this is a weakness of using iCloud, and restoring my Contacts to the pre-delete version is such a pain I'm thinking of not using iCloud.

 

My question is this.  When I make a change on my laptop the change gets pushed to the iCloud copy where it gets pushed to the other devices.  When I restore a backup from Time Machine why doesn't this copy get pushed to iCloud first (just like any other change being made on the laptop) instead of iCloud downloading its copy to the laptop and overwrting the laptop's backup version?


MacBook Pro (15-inch 2.4/2.2 GHz), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)
  • Roger Wilmut1 Level 9 Level 9 (69,610 points)

    Your deletion of the Group post dates the Group itself in the backup, and hence when restored iCloud does what it's supposed to do and brings your Address Book (Contacts) up to date with the latest version.

     

    You will need to go through this procedure:

     

    Turn your internet connection off - make sure it really is off.

     

    Restore your Contacts as before. Select the Group and drag it to the Desktop - it will become a .vcf file

     

    Now turn the internet connection back on. iCloud will delete the Group.

     

    Use File>Import to import the .vcf file you created betore.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Thanks for the quick response, Roger.

     

    When I import the Group card the contacts get imported but the Group doesn't get placed in the sidebar with the rest of the Groups.  Do I have to create this Group maunally again, or am I doing something wrong?

  • Roger Wilmut1 Level 9 Level 9 (69,610 points)

    It sounds as if you will need to recreate the Group before exporting.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I'm sorry...I wasn't clear.  Initially, when I deleted the Group the contacts weren't actually deleted from my "All Contacts" list, just the Group from the sidebar.

     

    Following your directions, after I restored Contacts to my pre-delete version by restoring my ~Library/Aplication Support/AddressBook folder, I exported the Group as a vCard.  After iCloud restored my post deleted version that does not have the Group, I then imported the Group vCard.  Contacts tells me there are duplicates names and I click Import.  The names are there but the Group does not show in the sidebar.  Do I have to recreate the Group manually at this point?

  • Roger Wilmut1 Level 9 Level 9 (69,610 points)

    As the contacts themselves are there (I assumed they had been deleted) it looks as if you will have to.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Very good, thank you, Roger

     

    It's this extra work that I have to go through when restoring backups while using iCloud that aggrevates me.  I think I will use iTunes to sync my laptop and iPhone.  I don't think I really need to have instant gratification with my contacts.  Syncing my device when I add a contact will work for me.

     

    Thank you for the quick responses.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Oh, Roger, back to my original question...why does iCloud not work the same with Time Machine backups as it does with regular changes to Contacts on my laptop?  Read my intioal post for a better description of my question.

  • Roger Wilmut1 Level 9 Level 9 (69,610 points)

    Because it's always the latest version which you will see. The backup represents an earlier version and so gets over-written by the up-to-date version on iCloud, which includes the deletion.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    But when I add or delete contacts on my laptop THAT gets sent up to iCloud.  Soooo, those changes are considered the same version that is in iCloud, and that's why iCloud accepts the changes?

  • Roger Wilmut1 Level 9 Level 9 (69,610 points)

    It's the latest change at either end which survives. Your backup has an earlier date than the data on iCloud and hence is considered out of date. If it was a matter of missing contacts you would get round it in the way I described, but I don't know why the Groups aren't being handled this way.

  • plcmms Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I think I understand better.  Thanks for the help, Roger.  Really appreciate the quick responses.