Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Simple instructions to set up the Guest network on Time Capsule

I am trying to set up Guest access to the internet through the TIme Capsule. I am using a Billion modem/router, which is then connected to the WAN port of the Time Capsule. The current setup is Bridge mode, which from my reading seems to be wrong to achieve the Guest access. But I need some guidance.

The support article ( http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3477) is a bit hard for me to follow (I'm a novice in this area). Can anyone provide simple instructions as to how to do this:

In order to use a Guest network, your AirPort Extreme (3rd Generation or later), Time Capsule (2nd Generation or later), or AirPort Express 802.11n (2nd Generation) Wi-Fi base station must be sharing a public IP address via DHCP for client computers. While configured in this way, your AirPort base station or Time Capsule acts as a router, taking the IP address provided by your ISP and distributing multiple, private IP addresses for clients of the AirPort network. This is the default behavior of the AirPort base station or Time Capsule and can be changed using AirPort Utility.

Time Capsule-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Apr 29, 2013 5:38 AM

6 replies

Apr 29, 2013 6:39 AM in response to mgish

Unfortunately, this is a perplexing issue, since Apple designed the Time Capsule to work with a simple modem.

Bridge Mode is the correct setting for the Time Capsule when it is configured to work with another router, or modem/router.....not a simple modem. In your case, the Billion modem/router is the "other" router.

Yet, the Guest Network feature cannot be set up correctly when the Time Capsule is configured in Bridge Mode.

In order to set up the Guest Network on the Time Capsule, the Time Capsule would have to be configured incorrectly to work with your Billion modem/router.