Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

aws unlocked iphone 5

I bought a full price Unlocked iPhone 5 from Apple back in January to use on Straight Talk. I had some issues with data on Straight Talk not being reliable and I had to keep turning data off and on again to get a connection. Now that TMobile is supporting the iPhone at the same price as Straight Talk I figured i'd give them a try - after all that's what having an unlocked phone with no contrat is all about right? I'm a free agent.

So i signed up however i don't get 3G anyhere, and my 4G coverage is spotty (talking HSPA+ 4G not LTE). This is because my $599 unlocked phone doesn't have AWS support.

My question is why won't Apple release an update that will allow my identical hardware to work the way the one would if i bought it from TMobile? It's the same A1428 Model, the ony difference is the software. I really don't have to have to sell my older A1428 to buy a new A1428 from TMobile just to get it to work when it should have anyway.

Can someone respond as to what Apple plans to do about this?

Thanks,

Andrew

iPhone 5, iOS 6.0.1

Posted on Apr 29, 2013 3:18 PM

3 replies

Apr 29, 2013 3:42 PM in response to beholder95

No one told you it would work on T-Mobile when you bought it. No one told you it would work on Straight Talk either. Your assumption that it should have worked is incorrect.

Apple has not announced any plans to do anything about this.

You were the one who made the decision to use an unsupported carrier to begin with. Now that a new carrier is available for use, you have every right to sell your existing phone and buy a newer one that supports their network.