9 Replies Latest reply: May 3, 2013 1:35 AM by Jardange
Jardange Level 1 Level 1

Hi

I have a white MacBook - late 2009 - so obviously well ancient. Recently the hard drive failed and was replaced - it cost me as it was about a week after the Apple Care Plan expired.

It was replaced by a bigger hard drive as that is all they use now but I am really really disappointed as it is noisy. The old one was a silent as the grave, this one makes a constant sound in the background. Having read all the threads on this I am beginning to think I will have to put up with it but frankly it is a bit like white noise torture. It is a low noise but it is always there and I am aware of it.

I have tried resetting the SMC (4 times) and PRAM. I have checked for apps running in the background (probably not as well as I should as I am no techie) and I still cannot stop it. I don't think it is the fan as I don't run a lot of programmes at once and it does not get at all hot.

Does anyone have any further ideas please or will I just have to put up with it until either I or the Mac dies?

If I do have to put up with it is there anyway of getting Apple to do anything about this as there are so many of us with the same problem?

I must say I love Apple products but am very disappointed with them about this.

MacBook, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)
Reply by kostby on May 1, 2013 8:04 AM Helpful
Welcome to Apple Support Communities. We're all users here. It isn't directly Apple's fault. They don't manufacture the hard drives.Some hard drives are just noisier than others.In my limited experience with my own MacBook, the noisiest drive I've owned is a Seagate 7200rpm 500Gb. The quietest drive I've owned was manufactured by Hitachi, now HGST, a division of Western Digital. The original Fujitsu drive was somewhere in between.

All replies

• kostby Level 4 Level 4

Welcome to Apple Support Communities. We're all users here.

It isn't directly Apple's fault. They don't manufacture the hard drives.