Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

will creative suite and Quark 6.5 still run?

I bought my MacBook 2 years ago and migrated all my software. I'm a semi-retired graphic designer, so my apps include QuarkXpress 6.5 and Adobe Creative suite, an early version. The MacBook is running MacOs 10.6.8 and all the software, icluding Quark 6.5 runs fine, even though I'd heard that this older version of QXP woudn't work on the MacBook.

Incidentally, it was all migrated from a PowerPc processor Mac Mini, the first one on the market from back in 2003. It had been running 10.3.8 I think, but can't remember now.

The cost of updating QuarkXpress alone is now rather prohibitive for me, since my income is much less than it used to be. However, I have just bought an iPad Mini and find, annoyingly, that I can't sync my iCal or Contacts unless I upgrade the MacBook to 10.7. I am worried that if I do this my Quark 6.5 will then cease to work, or even worse, that my Adobe Creative suite will also malfunction. Since I have hundreds of archived files from the few clients that I still work for saved in QXP, this could be a huge problem if my fears are realised.

Anyone know if my worries are groundless, or whether they will prove real if I update the Os?

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on May 3, 2013 7:25 PM

24 replies

May 4, 2013 2:16 PM in response to MlchaelLAX

It does not show CS2 running on Lion. It shows SL Server running in Parallels, running on Lion. It fails to mention the expenditure needed to get there (after the OP specifically mentioned financial issues). The OP has yet to identify the version of Creative Suite in use (although Quark 6.5 is not going to run regardless)

I will cheerfully admit that it will work, and may even be the cheapest solution, but the post is still misleading.

May 4, 2013 3:09 PM in response to Csound1

Let us review...

Csound1 said: