Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Loading a .band file back into Garageband (iPad 2)

Hi all. I am a newbie. Forgive me if this question is ridiculous, and forgive me if it's been asked 1000 times. Basically, I'm trying to collaborate with some old school buddies through Garageband. I only have it on Ipad 2, they have it on their macs. I do not have a mac (terrible, I know). We're all working from a Dropbox account. I put a file of a guitar track into said Dropbox. They've already done work on the file and dropped it back into the box. Now, I'm able to get the new .band folder back into itunes through my pac, via ifunbox. However, when I pull up Garageband on the Ipad 2 and click the + sign and select itunes, it doesn't show up. If I select a song I have on my Garageband, I can see the folder through Apple Loops, but it isn't accessible. I can just see the title, and it's in grey, not in bold black. So, is it not possible to get this back onto the iPad 2 by pc through iTunes? Will it ever be? Better yet, if I had a mac, would this be doable? I realize this is worded terribly, but any help would be appreciated.

iPad 2

Posted on May 4, 2013 1:02 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 4, 2013 1:28 AM

To share a GarageBand project back from a PC see turingtest2's post:

HT4574 Re: Can I share my project file(.band in my iphone4) to my friend who using iPhone 4s.

This describes, how to add it back with iFunbox and iTunes. I see you have tried that already, but perhaps you missed a step?

On a mac you have two ways to share projects from an iPad to a mac and back: Sharre them to iCloud or share to iTunes.

But sharing between mac and iPad only will only work for GarageBand projects that have been created on the iPad initially. And when working on them on your mac, you must not make any changes, that are not supported on the iPad.

Regards

Léonie

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply