Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

2000+ renamed masters; reconnect all doesn't even try

Long story not worth going into: I have a pile of master images that have been irreversibly renamed and are currently disconnected from the library. I can locate the master for a single image, the "Reconnect" and "Reconnect All" buttons light up, "Reconnect All" correctly reconnects that one image, but Aperture doesn't connect any more beyond that.

So basically Aperture does recognize that a master I find matches whatever criteria it uses to determine it's the file it expected, but doesn't search for any other masters within the same directory, leaving me to find the next match manually.

10.8.3, Aperture 3.4.4, Files located on a second internal drive.

Is there any way for me to have the computer do what it's best at and do this repetitive work for me? It clearly recognizes the match when I do the work myself.

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on May 7, 2013 11:20 PM

4 replies

May 7, 2013 11:33 PM in response to Lothaeron

For Aperture to find the match automatically the filenames must match.

Can you rename them all first and then try to reconnect again? Or restore your renamed masters from an earlier backup?

Is there a clear pattern to the renaming error, so you could do the renaming with an Automator action or AppleScript?

Another option would be to copy the disconnected masters to a different location and to reimport them. Then lift and stamp any edits and changed annotations that you want to save from the disconnected versions.

Regards

Léonie

May 7, 2013 11:43 PM in response to léonie