Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New to Imac

i am new to imac and am looking at buying a second hand one. anyone got any tips? what to look for? what specs are best for occassional gaming and mainly watching online tv, facebook and email on a budget without compromising power too much.

how do i use the basic functions any tips or pointers? comparison to pc (which ive been using for 20 years, its all going to be very different!) on a pc to open programs you go into start menu and click on the program and then press'x' to close. any open programs are on the taskbar. how does this compare?

thanks

iPhone 4, ios 5 icloud imessages

Posted on May 11, 2013 5:48 AM

22 replies

May 11, 2013 6:50 AM in response to Baileysqueen

Rather than buying second hand especially when you don't know anything about Macs I'd recommend buy an Apple refurbished computer. You can save money, get the same warranty as a new machine and it's elgible for AppleCare service.

Switching from a PC to a Mac does take some adjustment but it's not that bad, most people acclimate after a couple of weeks pretty well. I'd also recommend bookmarking and using:

Why you will love a Mac

Find outMac Basics

May 11, 2013 7:04 AM in response to Baileysqueen

Baileysqueen wrote:

I would do but the cheapest apple refurb is a thousand pounds. They go on ebay second hand for about 5-600 base price for the min specs I want. Quite a difference in price.

Is it possible to add AppleCare ?

Nope! unless the machine is less than 1 year old. That's the difference, when you buy used you have absolutely no idea what you're buying. When you buy refurbished you can buy with confidence.

May 11, 2013 8:08 AM in response to Baileysqueen

If you do decide on a used machine, keep the following in mind: