Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Review photos in large view before importing

I have been using Aperture for about 6 months now. I tend to take a lot of pictures of the same subject in a setting with various ligths, angles, etc. So after any given shoot I have hundreds of pictures, whereas I actually want/need a few of them. With my current method of import, I have to import ALL of the pictures, looks through them, and delete the REFERENCE THUMBNAIL I don't want. This keeps the MASTER on my rapidly filling hard drive.

In the Windows world, I had the option of looking at everything on the SD card in FULL SCREEN and delete what I did not want before importing what I wanted. Is there such an option on the Mac? In other words, can is there a way on Aperture, Image Capture, Preview, etc. to look at the pictures on the SD card in LARGE format, study the details, and import only the ones necessary, in order to save HD space?

Mac mini, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on May 11, 2013 8:43 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 11, 2013 9:25 AM

I have to import ALL of the pictures, looks through them, and delete the REFERENCE THUMBNAIL I don't want. This keeps the MASTER on my rapidly filling hard drive.

You can always use the command "Delete Original Image and all version" and when emptying the Trash enable "Move referenced files to Trash". This way the originals will not waste disk space.

User uploaded file

In the Import panel you can switch to the viewer to step and browse the images one by one and to enable the checkmark for import. However, I found no way to do this with the Viewer set to full screen.

User uploaded file

Regards

Léonie

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 11, 2013 9:25 AM in response to Kasebeekas

I have to import ALL of the pictures, looks through them, and delete the REFERENCE THUMBNAIL I don't want. This keeps the MASTER on my rapidly filling hard drive.