Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New computer, new Keynote, repeatedly crashing

I have a Macbook Pro 15" w/Retina, 16GB. Keynote was factory installed. Everything is up to date. OSX 10.8.3, Keynote '09 5.3 (1170)

I'm trying to use Keynote for the first time. It has crashed 3 times while working on just the second slide. What little data I'd entered was lost.

I'm new to the Mac, this is my first one. I use PowerPoint without problems on a PC.

I thought the Mac, the tightly integrated OS, and the Apple software were to be very stable, if not bulletproof. So far this is pretty unimpressive. Is anyone actually using Keynote for anything useful?

David

Numbers-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on May 16, 2013 12:43 PM

7 replies

May 19, 2013 6:03 AM in response to David_E_

Try this maintenance procedure, it has sorted out many Keynote issues:

Uninstall all of iWork if you have this, otherwise uninstall Keynote if other iWork applications are not installed.

This must be done with an application remover to delete the installation properly. Appcleaner is known to work with this procedure, is free can be downloaded from here: Appcleaner Download

empty the trash

Reinstall Keynote or iWork using the original method on purchase using the installer file or installed from the App Store

shutdown the Mac and restart holding down the shift key until the apple logo appears

let the Mac complete the start up procedure completely, it will take longer to start as it is repairing software on the hard drive

go to Applications > Utilities > Disc Utility > First Aid > Repair Disc Permissions

when this is completed restart the Mac normally

Please report back on how you got on as feedback is important to keep information up to date.

May 19, 2013 7:17 AM in response to Gary Scotland

Hi Gary,