Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Xcode: C++ program stops in the middle of the code

Hello fellow C++ developers, I'm a novice in C++ programming. This is my code:

//

// main.cpp

// Test

//

// Created by (USERNAME) on 5/19/13.

// Copyright (c) 2013 (USERNAME). All rights reserved.

//

#include <iostream>

int main(int argc, const char * argv[])

{

usingnamespace std;

cout << "Hello world!" << endl;

cout << "Enter a word: ";

string word = "";

cin >> word;

cout << "You entered: \"" << word << "\"" << endl;

string name = "";

cout << "Enter your name: ";

cin >> name;

cout << "Hello, " << name << ", my name is Computer." << endl;

cout << "I am a C++ program" << endl; //Program terminates here

string worda = "";

cout << "Enter another word: ";

cin >> worda;

cout << "You entered: \"" << worda << "\"" << endl;

return 0;

}

Does anyone understand why this is (the program terminates there)?

Posted on May 19, 2013 3:38 AM

12 replies

May 19, 2013 6:14 AM in response to Arc676

You have to declare the method, with just the signature, first in a place where it will be visible to the code calling it. Then you can define the method pretty much anywhere and the linker will connect it all together.

Also, I don't think you have any classes defined. A method is an action attached to a class. If there is no class, it is just a function.

May 19, 2013 6:19 PM in response to Arc676

The problem is that when you call foo();, the compiler doesn't know it exists yet. You have to declare it with:

void foo(void);

Then, the compiler will know that is a function. When it sees that function being called, it will stick a placeholder for it. Then it will see a function and compile that to object code right next to the main() function. Finally, the linker will go through and connect all of those function placeholders into actual function calls.

May 20, 2013 8:51 AM in response to Arc676

Arc676 wrote: