Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I correctly disconnect the card reader USB connection from the computer? In my Olympus instruction manual it says to drag the "no-name" icon to the trash, but that icon has disappeared. Total newbie here.

I'm a total newbie at importing photos. Finally figured out how to do it yesterday. Yay me. But then I just pulled out the USB connector & got yelled at by the computer, so today I'm trying to figure out how to do it correctly & eject the connection before yanking it out. My Olympus instruction manual says to drag the "no-name" icon to the trash, but the "no-name" icon has disappeared & I don't know where to go looking for it. I'm using a card reader; not directly connected to the camera, & I'm in iPhotos.

I'm pretty much a computer dinosaur, so please explain things simply & assume I still won't know what you are talking about. Really. I CAN follow directions pretty well.

iPhoto6-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on May 20, 2013 10:24 AM

14 replies

May 20, 2013 11:38 AM in response to LarryHN

The memory card is still in the reader. I'm afraid to touch anything after the "scolding" I got from the computer yesterday. Heh.

The only things listed in the Source list (pane?) are: "Library", "Last Roll", "Last 12 Months" & "Trash". There is no "NoName" & I see no little grey upside down triangle, unless I click on the right-facing triangle in front of "Library", but I don't think that's what you're talking about.

May 20, 2013 2:42 PM in response to siberia cats

Ok, does this sound right? Does the card reader "eject" itself after importing images?