Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help! MacBook Pro/retina: should I wait?

My mid-2008 MacBook Pro was stolen out of my living room last week (via a break in), which was a huge bummer. But I've had it for five years and was considering an update in the next six months or so and all of my data was backed up on a 1 TB external drive the night before.

I'm a multimedia journalist fresh out of college (i.e. I don't have a lot of spending money) who does lots of portrait and wedding work in Lightroom 4 and photoshop CS5.5, occasional simple video work in final cut express and live type (with basic knowledge of after effects), and graphic design work in illustrator. I'm not sure whether or not I'll be doing more video stuff once my internship is up in August.

My previous machine was upgraded to 4 GB of RAM and had a 200 GB hard drive that, due to the photos, was constantly filling up. It also had a 2.3 ghz processor and I upgraded to Mountain Lion.