Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

QuickTime MPEG-2 Playback Component

I am new to Mac so please forgive my ignorance. I have a Sony video camera which has .mpg files. I wanted to use these files in imovie so I googled how to convert them and came up with MPEG Streamclip. It wiped my MPEG-2 Playback Component. I downloaded it again from the Apple store but when I went to install it told me it was too old for my system. What can I do now?

(P.S. hating that I converting anything to mac is so bloody complicated)

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on May 30, 2013 6:03 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 4, 2017 7:27 AM

Hi, I'm having the same problem and seem to be going round in circles, so forgive me if I'm misunderstanding.

So the Mpeg-2 playback is pre-installed in QTX, But Streamclip can't see it. So download Streamclip 1.9.3b7 beta and point the Utility MPEG2 Component Lion toward the original QuickTimeMPEG2.dmg

So....

Where do I find a copy of QuickTimeMPEG2.dmg to point streamclip to? I can't find it to buy on the apple pages, I don't have a copy of FCP or anything, so how do I get QuickTimeMPEG2.dmg on to my computer for streamclip to point at. If it's already there somewhere, where do I find it? Nowhere on the net seems to be able to point me anywhere to buy/download this file, they just keep saying "you need it."

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks.

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 4, 2017 7:27 AM in response to Klaus1

Hi, I'm having the same problem and seem to be going round in circles, so forgive me if I'm misunderstanding.

So the Mpeg-2 playback is pre-installed in QTX, But Streamclip can't see it. So download Streamclip 1.9.3b7 beta and point the Utility MPEG2 Component Lion toward the original QuickTimeMPEG2.dmg

So....