Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I prepare my iMac for sale? And best practice for transferring media to a new system.

This is my first time posting in a forum, so I will apologize in advance if I'm doing something wrong. I've tried to search for a very clear answer to my questions in the existing discussions, but have not had much luck.

I ordered a Macbook Pro today and would like to sell my current iMac to supplement some of the cost. I purchased my iMac in March of 2011 with OS X Snow Leopard preinstalled. I've since updated to Mountain Lion. When my computer came in it did not have OS DVDs, so I am not sure exactly how to take it back to factory default and remove ALL of my information safely in order to prepare it for sale. I'm afraid to tell it to format if I am going to need a boot disc/drive to reinstall the OS. I've been trying to research all day and have learned that I will not be able to sell it with the current OS, only the one that came with the computer at the time of purchase (to the best of my understanding).