Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have a lot of movies on my computer and need to free up memory. What is the best solution, if I think I may need these movies in the future?

I'm an elementary music teacher and my students perform regularly so I have a lot of their performances on my computer. Now I need to free up memory so am wondering what the best solution would be, given that I may need access to these movies again in the future.

I do have an external hard drive, but have never been able to figure out if you can store movies on it, instead of on the computer hard drive.

Thanks so much!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), also have iMovie and iDVD

Posted on Jun 1, 2013 6:43 AM

6 replies

Jun 1, 2013 11:22 AM in response to iteachmusic

In iDVD projects the source files are only linked to so they would be located in their original location. That is unless you created an archive iDVD project file, XXXX Archived.dvdproJ, which copies the source files into the project file and deleted the original source files.

IMovie saves it's files in your Home/Movies folder in folders titled iMovie Events and iMovie Projects.

Disk Utility does not store files. It creates and burns disk images among it's other festures.

OT

Jun 2, 2013 11:35 PM in response to iteachmusic

Good evening,