Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to install iTunes, but access music library from external drive?

I tried to install iTunes (11) on a new computer with Windows 8. I keep the iTunes library on an external drive. I tried to move the media files over to the newly installed iTunes within the hard drive program files, but it doesn't seem to work. The relevant threads in the forum are a bit over my head (I am brand new to Windows 8, having leaped over from XP). Is there some simple way to straighten out the paths on iTunes so that it will properly play songs from the external drive, show my old songlists, etc?

I've now uninstalled iTunes from computer. Would like to reinstall without too much headache ...

Windows 8

Posted on Jun 16, 2013 10:37 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 18, 2013 9:32 AM

Hello there FunkyMuzak,

iTunes can be set to use the library on the external drive, and save new content.

To have iTunes open the alternate library on the drive use this option:

Steps to create or choose a different iTunes Library file

1. If iTunes is running, quit iTunes.
  2. If you are using Windows, hold down the Shift key and from the Start menu and choose All Programs > iTunes > iTunes.
  3. If you are using the Mac, open iTunes and immediately hold down the Option key.
  4. You should see one of the following screens:
    User uploaded file

User uploaded file

From: iTunes: How to open an alternate iTunes Library file or create a new one

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1589

And to tell iTunes to save your new media when you buy songs or movies, etc., use this part of our article named Where are my iTunes files located? found here http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1391

Discovering and changing the iTunes Media folder location