Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Externalise functions into a library

Hi,

I've been working on a new Applescript which is intended as a customizable template. When it's done, I will be publishing it on GitHub. But right now, I'm still a long way from it being done. In order to allow updates of the framework provided with this template separately from updates in the custom code bits, I've decided I want to split as much as possible off into a library file. There are a whole number of questions I have about this, as it's the first time I'm trying to do this.

Please keep in mind this is just a fun thing on the side. I'm not a developer, never have been.

I'll reference the following files below ...

• library.scpt is the script with the main, common functions that don't change from one to the next use of this framework
  • template.scpt is the template document which provides the minimal structure for using this framework
  • main.scpt is an actual script that I am writing, it started out as a copy of template.scpt and then I started changing it

Loading an external library

There are comments all over the web about how to get one applescript to load another, but for some reason none of it seems to work. Although it seems broken again as I write this, I did at one point get the following line to work

set _library to load script alias ((path to desktop as text) & "library.scpt")

Q1: Where do I find a comprehensive reference and step-by-step guide to making the loading of a library script work?

Configuration settings and variables