Previous 1 2 Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Oct 8, 2015 8:51 AM by MarkABQ
abhishekdey82 Level 1 Level 1

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to Mac (6 days old). I am just wondering how to reset my mail app to the company settings? Any help will be appreciated...

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)
Solved by abhishekdey82 on Aug 6, 2013 11:35 AM Solved
Thanks man!!! Worked like a charm... Sorry for the delay in replying!!!
Reply by Linc Davis on Jun 21, 2013 8:17 AM Helpful
Quit Mail. In the Finder, hold down the option key and select  Go ▹ Library  from the menu bar. Move the following items from the folder that opens to the Trash (some may not exist): Caches/com.apple.mailSaved Application State/com.apple.mail.savedStateApplication Support/AddressBook/MailRecents-v4.abcdmrContainers/com.apple.mailMailPreferences/com.apple.mail.plistPreferences/com.apple.mail.searchhistory.plistNote: you are not moving the Mail application. You’re moving a folder named “Mail.”
Reply by stevepo74 on Jan 1, 2014 2:07 PM Helpful
Hi there, I would also like to reset mac Mail to factory settings, but keep my folders in the left column with all the saved emails within them. Thanks!Steve

All replies

• Linc Davis Level 10 Level 10
    expertise.desktops
    Desktops

Quit Mail.

In the Finder, hold down the option key and select

Go ▹ Library

from the menu bar. Move the following items from the folder that opens to the Trash (some may not exist):

• Caches/com.apple.mail
    • Saved Application State/com.apple.mail.savedState
    • Application Support/AddressBook/MailRecents-v4.abcdmr
    • Containers/com.apple.mail
    • Mail
    • Preferences/com.apple.mail.plist
    • Preferences/com.apple.mail.searchhistory.plist

Note: you are not moving the Mail application. You’re moving a folder named “Mail.”

• abhishekdey82 Level 1 Level 1

Thanks man!!! Worked like a charm... Sorry for the delay in replying!!!

• stevepo74 Level 1 Level 1

Hi there,