Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to reset mail to factory settings.

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to Mac (6 days old). I am just wondering how to reset my mail app to the company settings? Any help will be appreciated...

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Jun 21, 2013 1:26 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 26, 2017 7:34 AM

The e-mails will still take up space on your computer, but try going to Mail/Mailbox/Export Mailbox. If the e-mails remain in the mailbox, delete them. You can then save the exported mailbox as an archive. To access the e-mails, Mail/File/Import Mailbox.

29 replies

Mar 9, 2017 4:01 PM in response to Linc Davis

So my email is a complete mess to begin With having like 17 different emails half of which I forgot passwords to... me being me a self proclaimed tech savvy cellphone genius decided to switch a bunch of crap around so much so that I don't even get my apple emails anymore or half of any of my emails due to me making and deleting folders and swapping places ..... yadahh yaddah

I want me email on my iphone7+ to go back to basic setup as it was before .... inbox. sent . Drafts. Etc etc

Is it too late to fix my mistake

Ps I don't have access to a mac or MacBook or computer of any sort ......

Annnnnnnnnnnd go ... lol

Jul 26, 2017 2:39 AM in response to Eric Root

I don't know if there is still someone here but let's try.

I have a problem with this file "V2" it is really heavy (11 Gigas) I would like to lighten it or even to delete it to make Mail not so a heavy application. What can I do if I want to conserve one year of past emails in my box, for instance?

Thank you very much!

Jul 30, 2017 9:08 AM in response to Eric Root