Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't reinstall apps on new iPhone 5

I just bought an iPhone 5 and have restored a backup from my old iPhone 3GS, following the instructions on Apple's website. Everything has worked great except some of the apps on the original iPhone. When I tried moving them to the new Phone I got messages saying they couldn't be installed since the app couldn't be located. I managed to re-download all the apps from the new iPhone instead, except for three of them, which are no longer available on the App Store.

So now I wonder, are these lost or is it still possible to transfer them from the old iPhone? Because they still work on that one. When I click on the app icon in iTunes it says the app can't be found because the original file couldn't be located. I'd really appreciate your help! I'm not an expert on computers so please be patient with me haha! 😉

Posted on Jun 22, 2013 7:16 AM

13 replies

Jun 22, 2013 7:38 AM in response to BimboBoy

You transferred the backup for your iPhone 3GS available on your computer to the new iPhone with iTunes - this wasn't done from your iPhone's iCloud backup?

If so and the missing apps in your iTunes library are available on your 3GS, with your 3GS connected to iTunes at the iTunes menu bar go to File and select Transfer Purchases From - the name of your iPhone. This should make the missing apps available in your iTunes library again for transfer to your new iPhone - that is unless these apps are not compatible with the iPhone 5 for some reason.

Jun 22, 2013 8:08 AM in response to BimboBoy

There is no syncing with the Transfer Purchases From option.

Under Library in the iTunes source list, select Apps.

If your iOS Apps do not appear in the main iTunes window, select All at the top of the window.