2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2013 5:20 AM by beaujest11
Cloudyhead1 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

I am new to Imac and Iphoto. I turned off the 'always ask before deleting photos' as I was deleting alot. Now I think about it I would like it back on to avoid deleting in error and I can't see how to restore it. I have looked around in help and everywhere else I can think of - can anyone help please?

  • 1. Re: Restoring 'always ask before deleting photos'
    Terence Devlin Level 10 Level 10 (123,775 points)

    Try trash the com.apple.iPhoto.plist file from the HD/Users/ Your Name / library / preferences folder.

     

    (On 10.7 or later: Hold the option (or alt) key while clicking on the Go menu in Finder to access the User Library)

     

    (Remember you'll need to reset your User options afterwards. These include minor settings like the window colour and so on. Note: If you've moved your library you'll need to point iPhoto at it again.)

     

    What's the plist file?

     

    For new users: Every application on your Mac has an accompanying plist file. It records certain User choices. For instance, in your favourite Word Processor it remembers your choice of Default Font, on your Web Browser is remembers things like your choice of Home Page. It even recalls what windows you had open last if your app allows you to pick up from where you left off last. The iPhoto plist file remembers things like the location of the Library, your choice of background colour, whether you are running a Referenced or Managed Library, what preferences you have for autosplitting events and so on. Trashing the plist file forces the app to generate a new one on the next launch, and this restores things to the Factory Defaults. Hence, if you've changed any of these things you'll need to reset them. If you haven't, then no bother. Trashing the plist file is Mac troubleshooting 101.p

  • 2. Re: Restoring 'always ask before deleting photos'
    beaujest11 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    If you don't want to blow away all your settings, you can also toggle the setting if you have XCode installed. Open the com.apple.iPhoto.plist file in HD/Users/{user}/library/preferences and change DontAskAboutDeleteConfirmation from YES to NO. The setting is about 40% of the way down the list.