Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Do I need Aperture?

I have been contemplating purchasing Aperture. I already use iPhoto and Pixelmator. I am an enthusiastic amateur, with a collection of about 3000 photos, but am looking for the best quality at my level. Would the addition of Aperture be a worthwhile investment and why?

iMac 27" i5, Mac OS X (10.6.4)

Posted on Jul 2, 2013 12:36 PM

5 replies

Jul 2, 2013 1:36 PM in response to billbir

What is it, that you are missing, when you are working with iPhoto?

Aperture does mostly what iPhoto is doing, but you have more advanced options to do it.

• Raw fine tuning - if you are shooting raw images, you have more control over the raw developement.
  • Advanced image editing - you can apply most adjustments locally by brushing them in and having multiple instances of them with different settings applied to the same image.
  • Hierarchical keyword sets and access to the iPTC and EXIF tags,
  • More smart rules in searches and smart albums
  • More options to organize the projects (events), albums, products (books, slideshows,light tables) in a hierarchical folder structure.
  • Tools to manage a referenced library (keep the original images on different external drives, if the library gets too large for an internal disk)
  • ..... and many more

iPhoto is a great tool, but if you find yourself restricted by the simple and basic features and are longing formore freedom for your workflow consider Aperture.

You will be able to use your photo libraries with both programs, since they are using the same library format.

Regards

Léonie

Jul 2, 2013 3:50 PM in response to léonie

Hi Leonie,