Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Google on a Mac - and the bigger picture. Is my data safe?

Hi

I have been using a Mac for several years for both business and personal. I like most others have been using Google services, but more recently I am concerned about the amount of information they are using from me and my Mac - to provide to others for advertising.

Recently I looked up a new US artist on YouTube to be presented with a non-skip advert for a local adverture / theme park less than 5 miles from where I live. What I wanted to see was the video for this US artist. This happened on several occasions and websites oftern have by city name mentioned in them.

I have done the obvious setting and location changes, use Little Snitch etc, but are there any really obvious things I should be doing.

For example, I use my Mac for online banking, but know the website address and all my log in details (don't save them on the computer). Could Google be tracking this log in information and account information?

Thanks in advance

Matt

Mac Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Jul 7, 2013 2:27 PM

8 replies

Jul 7, 2013 3:46 PM in response to AppleMacCider

Google tracks, keeps, and sells a lot of data about anyone using their services. All web servers you visit have the capability to track what you do on their server/site. They can track, keep, and sell this data. Your ISP has the capability to track what you are doing. The government has the capability to subpoena your info from Google and other tracking sites. Each web page you visit could have a tracking "bug" embedded on the pages or advertisements. Someone is tracking, keeping, or selling your browsing history.

There is no privacy on the Internet. Someone is tracking, keeping, or selling your information at some level.