Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie 09 Workspace basics help

Hey all I want to know is how to clear my workspace in iMovie 09.

I am new at using iMovie. I have been a QT Pro user for a long time, but now I am willing to try iMovie on my macbook pro with snow leopard 10.68

So here is my situation, I have the 'Event Library' and it shows everything, even stuff I never asked iMovie to pull up. It is like iMovie was made for a mad multitasker.

I like to focus on just 1, yes 'ONE' project at a time.

I don't want to see all my entire collection of video files in the event library. I don't even want to see all the videos taken on a specific day. (I know how to select that option)

All I want to see in the 'New Event' folder , is the SINGLE project that I am currently working on. That way I can focus on one thing at a time..

How can I do this? Can I make a different 'New Event' folder.?

In other words, how can I make iMovie work for me, instead of me having to work for it?

I know that there has to be a way to make this more functional

Thanks in advance

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Aluminum Macbook pro 7.1

Posted on Jul 9, 2013 2:20 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 9, 2013 5:13 PM

moh2o wrote:

The short answer is: You Can't. That's not how iMovie works.

My best advice is to get used to it or to stick with QT Pro.

But...

There's a workaround you might try, though I can't say I recommend it, because if you get it wrong you can do a lot a damage. With that warning, here it is:

iMovie manages Event and Project media the same way that Final Cut Pro X does. They are strored respectively in your iMovie Events and iMovie Project folders which reside in your Movies folder in your user account Home folder.

Here's an article writtn by Larry Jordan on how he solves the dilema you describe in Final Cut Pro X.

http://www.larryjordan.biz/fcpx-manage-media/