Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I get text from a text field and display it in an alert?

Hello! I am BRAND NEW to Objective-C and Xcode and iOS, so PLEASE be forgiving of what is going to be a stupid question. I have a text field. I want to enter some text, click "return", and see my text in an alert. It doesn't serve any useful purpose, but this is how I learn. So far, I am unsuccessful. Here's my function from my HelloEarthViewController.m file:

-(IBAction)showInputMessageUITextField *)textField
{
if ([textField.text isEqualToString:@""])
{
    return;
}
UIAlertView *helloEarthInputAlert = [[UIAlertView alloc]
                                     initWithTitle:@"Name!" message:[NSString stringWithFormat:@"Message: %@", textField.text]
                                     delegate:nil cancelButtonTitle:@"OK" otherButtonTitles:nil];
// Display this message.
[helloEarthInputAlert show];

}

Then I go option+click the text field and drag it to File's Owner and connect it to "showInputMessage:" Then I run it and the build succeeds, but nothing happens when I click my "return" button on the iPhone simulator.

What have I missed? Where have I gone wrong?

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Jul 9, 2013 9:08 PM

6 replies

Jul 9, 2013 10:23 PM in response to Jeremy Coulson

It may be different for me in OSX.

You need to declare an IBOutlet variable in the interface which you will use to communicate with the text field. You send messages through the IBOutlet variable to 'get' and 'set' values in the text field.

You need an action button to connect to your action selector. The action is where you can communicate with the text field and use the data.

Jul 10, 2013 6:11 AM in response to mark133

Okay, here's where I am. I have this in my view controller .h file:

@interface HelloEarthViewController : UIViewController <UITextFieldDelegate>
{