Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Re: Practical help in organising, pre-importing from iPhoto

I am seriously thinking of investing in Aperture. I appreciate that I am only an amateur, with a current collection, of about 3000 photos. I currently use iPhoto, together with Pixelmator, but have read that Aperture, is good for organisation and management of photos. i have looked at numerous video tutorials, so have some idea what is available, but what I would really like is for someone to review my proposed organisation, to see whether it makes sense and to offer any suggestions, before I import from iPhoto. This would give me some confidence/or not, based on the comments. I would be very grateful to get advice from someone who has already done this, so that I do not import a mess!

These are my suggested high level categories:-

Cruises Folder

Cruises – River subfolder

Cruises – Ocean subfolder

Holidays Folder

Holidays by year subfolder

Holidays by location subfolder

Domestic Folder

Family Folder

Family Special events i.e. Anniversaries, Birthdays etc subfolder for each

Family General subfolder

Family Genealogy Folder

Family Genealogy by family subfolder for each family

Flora and Fauna Folder

Flora subfolder

Fauna sub folder

Art – Watercolours Folder

Mountains Keyword

Sky Keyword

Friends General Folder

Friends Specific subfolder for each

Plus: – Colour codes/photos stars/Flags

iMac 27" i5, Mac OS X (10.6.4)

Posted on Jul 10, 2013 11:40 AM

11 replies

Jul 10, 2013 3:26 PM in response to Yer_Man

Hi Terence,