Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I open a folder marked exec?

I am not very good at computer skills, being self taught, and a senior citizen. I created lists of family dates etc. in Pages. Now on cover flow several of these are grey with exec in the top right hand corner. I have tried to open these without success, using all the ways I can think of. Could anyone please tell me if there is something I can do to open them, or are they lost, and if so, why? Any help you can offer would be gratefully received.

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)

Posted on Jul 10, 2013 11:04 PM

16 replies

Jul 28, 2017 5:33 PM in response to bhavesh1728

If this is a folder, you cannot use it as a shell command

"/Volumes/BHAVESH/Swt MeMor's 2k177/mauritius"

What I'm seeing in your screen shot appears that you did a drag and drop of your Folder from the Finder to a Terminal session, and then typed

; exit

If it was your goal to use this folder as part of a command, you need to have a command as the first word on the command line. Maybe you intended to say

cd /Volumes/BHAVESH/Swt\ MeMor\'s\ 2k177/mauritius ; exit

Of course I do not know why you would want to do that, but the shell is expecting a command at the first token. 'cd' (change directory) is a command that is often used with folders path's in a Terminal session. I would have expected something like:

cd /Volumes/BHAVESH/Swt\ MeMor\'s\ 2k177/mauritius

ls

I guess the real question is. What do you want to do with this folder from a Terminal session? That will help craft a useful answer, rather than guessing what you were trying to do based on error messages.

Jul 29, 2017 1:05 PM in response to bhwrites