Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Does AirPlay reduce network speed on 802.11ac network?

I might be understanding incorrectly...

I used to think that if there were different devices with different max speeds on a network, that all devices on the network got dragged down to the maximum speed of the slowest device, but as I've heard it explain on these boards, each device always operates at it's maximum speed.

So for example if I have a MBAir (802.11ac max speed), an old MBAIr (802.11n max speed), a new AirPort Extreme (802.11ac max), and an AppleTV (802.11n max) all on the same network...

If I am using my new MBAir, I'm hoping it works wirelessly on 802.11ac. I just was wondering if my wireless network get "dumbed down" to 802.11n since that is the max speed of the slowest device on the network? (pretend the slower old MBAir is using the same wireless network)

Add...related to AirPlay -

similar to the above, does AirPlay change the max speed of the network - like does AirPlay operate on a certain 802.11 network? Or does it work on 802.11n, 802.11ac, etc. without actually impacting the maximum speed of the network - other than the use of the wireless networks bandwidth, of course. So if I have an all 802.11ac network in the future, but have an old AirPlay device, does the wireless network maximum speed get brought down?

Thanks all!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jul 18, 2013 9:28 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 18, 2013 9:46 AM

In my experience, a typical wireless network will not "dumb down" to the maximum speed of the "slowest" wireless client. Instead, the higher bandwidth-capable clients will experience a somewhat reduced overall bandwidth to compensate for those slower devices. However, these effects are usually limited and only take place when the lower bandwidth devices are actively communicating on the shared network.