Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

PowerPC Help, WoW Help, MacBook Help??

Hi Just a few questions.

I am a total geek when it comes to games and computers BUT I am brand new to MacBooks.

Its literally taken me a whole week just to learn how to change some of the settings on it, iv always been a PC guy.

Anyways....

How come when I go to install World of Warcraft or some other applications that say WILL work on the box they say that its not supported as PowerPC Is no longer supported?

I tried downloading the "TryMe" World of Warcraft from Blizzard and that installed without any problems.

I am just wondering if I am going to have to buy all these games again! and when they are going to start releasing them in this new appstore which has literally nothing worth downloading on it.

I want to be able to install my old games and programs. Is there any easy alternative I could get?

or

is apple going to release something in the next firmware?

Any input is helpful but mind keep it simple lol

MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Jul 20, 2013 4:12 PM

8 replies

Jul 20, 2013 6:36 PM in response to JmzMc

How come when I go to install World of Warcraft or some other applications that say WILL work on the box they say that its not supported as PowerPC Is no longer supported?

Because you're trying to install a version that's several years out of date.

is apple going to release something in the next firmware?

Not anything that will help you run PowerPC applications.

Jul 20, 2013 7:59 PM in response to JmzMc

JmzMc wrote:

Also I want to keep using Mac OS X and not have to install Windows using BootCamp

Use a virtualization solution: Oracle VirtualBox (free), VMWare Fusion ($50), Parallels Desktop ($80) + the license for whatever flavor of Windows floats your boat.