Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Filemaker Pro 6 Client install on Snow Leopard Server on Parallels

Hey Gang,

As per MichaelLAX "Full installation instructions for Snow Leopard Server into Parallels", I have successfully installed SLS on an ML iMac using Parallels 8. Worked great, thank you.

The only issue I am runnig into is we require FileMaker Pro 6 client to be installed and functional. FM installs fine, but the client does not seem to be able to "see" the FM Server which is on the same local network all our other macs operate and access FM on.

I'm sure there is a preference somewhere that is preventing the SLS install of FM from accessing the local network computers as they are also not visible in finder as they would be normally. I have no experience with OS X Server in general, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Josh

OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Jul 24, 2013 10:22 AM

7 replies

Jul 25, 2013 12:38 PM in response to Josh1565

The fact that you are running the Server version of Snow Leopard should be irrelevant to the problem you are trying to solve. It should be the same, for your purposes, as Snow Leopard client.

I do not have enough experience with FM server to understand the nature of your problem.

So, FM "sees" a running FM server located on a local area network? Does FM server require that any networked hard drive be mounted on the client Mac, or does it just "see" it?

Does the client have an option to "connect" to the server?

Jul 25, 2013 1:20 PM in response to Josh1565

OK: Here is what I did:

I installed FM7 on my Snow Leopard Mac Mini and created a small file called To Do List.fp7. I made it a FileMaker Network server file in the Sharing... Menu under FileMaker Pro menu.

I then opened FM7 in Snow Leopard Server in Parallels 8 on my Lion Mac Mini. Under the File Menu I selected Open Remote... I changed View to Favorite Hosts.