Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using applescript to get iCal to open a file

I'm trying to use AppleScript to get iCal to open a Word doc at a specified date/time.

As a complete novice to AppleScript, I'm sure I have misunderstood how the syntax and grammar of the language work. Would you please advise me how to change this script --

set filepath to POSIX path of "Microsoft Word:Users:mtmanner:Documents:Family JY & Friends:Craig:Craigs Goals:Socializing:Being with people.doc"

try

set command to "open Users/mtmanner/Documents/Family JY & Friends:Craig/Craigs Goals/Socializing/Being with people.doc"

do shell scriptcommand

end try

Thanks for your help.

MacBook Air (11-inch Late 2010), Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Jul 31, 2013 4:57 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 31, 2013 8:38 AM

No need to get so complicated.

tell application "Finder"

open file "Being with people.doc" of folder "Socializing" of folder "Craigs Goals" of folder "Craig" of folder "Family JY & Friends" of folder "Documents" of folder "mtmanner" of folder "Users" of startup disk

end tell

Incidentally the second section of your script has a colon instead of a slash before the folder 'Craig'.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 31, 2013 8:38 AM in response to mtmanner

No need to get so complicated.

tell application "Finder"

open file "Being with people.doc" of folder "Socializing" of folder "Craigs Goals" of folder "Craig" of folder "Family JY & Friends" of folder "Documents" of folder "mtmanner" of folder "Users" of startup disk

end tell

Incidentally the second section of your script has a colon instead of a slash before the folder 'Craig'.

Jul 31, 2013 8:57 AM in response to mtmanner