Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

college student asking: macbook air or pro?

Im a second year college student currently with a 2 year old macbook pro 15", which I have discovered is way too heavy for me to be lugging around to the library and back and around campus. But I LOVE how big the screen is on it because on of the primary uses for me is watching tv and movies on it. My mom is really rallying to take my laptop so I can get a new one and I am consdering it. But I just don't know if I should get a Macbook pro retina display, also 15", or a 13" macbook air. which would be lighter and I would be able to take to the library and around. But i would sacrifice the screen size which it what i love about my current macbook pro. I NEED HELP

Posted on Aug 7, 2013 6:12 PM

5 replies

Aug 7, 2013 6:18 PM in response to tdigeronimo

a little extra information I am a Speech Language Hearing Sciences Major, and I also use my computer a lot for viewing powerpoints while studying, and writing papers and creating projects. Typical college kid stuff. I deal a little bit with physics because of my major but I do not think that engineer grade apps will be a requirement for me.

Aug 7, 2013 6:25 PM in response to tdigeronimo

Ive got an older 15" pro, and a current 13" Air, considering youre not doing any major photo or video editing, the Air would be my choice for packing around the campus. Youve got a full power Mac with the near weight of an Ipad

Also the AIR is the only current Mac with 802ac wifi, ultralong 12 hr. battery life in 13" and I5 config, and cool running Haswell Intel infrastructure.

I honestly dont notice much diff. between my 15" pro and my 13" air, and the Air screen is a good bit sharper and has more contrast, is easier to stare at for longer periods.