Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What do you use to correct lens distortion?

Just curious what you all use for lens correction if you use Aperture? I've been using Aperture for about 6 months now and mostly love it and do not regret purchasing it instead of Lightroom. But the one thing that bugs me is no lens correction! I shoot with a Canon 6D and the 24-105 lens. At 24mm the lens definitely needs some distortion correction.

I downloaded a trial version of the PTLens plugin. But I thought I would ask here what others use before I go ahead and purchase the full version. Maybe there is an easier way? I would prefer to get the correction done and still be able to work on the raw file. Right now after I correct it it's no longer a raw image. But maybe that is the way no matter how I correct it?

Any thoughts or advice appreciated. I just hate how Lightroom users in other forums can say Oh it's just a click of one button and the distortion is gone! I do hope Apple includes this, seemingly glaring oversight, in a later addition of Aperture.

Posted on Aug 8, 2013 6:53 AM

10 replies

Aug 8, 2013 8:08 AM in response to sdmcgowan

I have used the following products in conjunction with Aperture 2 and 3:

PT Lens plug-in

DxO Optics Pro 6, 7 and 8

Adobe Camera RAW

Photoshop CS4, CS5 and CS6

In all cases, the non-destructive workflow is broken by the fact that you need either a rendered file from Aperture to be sent to the distortion correction, or you correct distortion and then import a non-RAW file into Aperture. No matter what we choose, the real solution needs to come from Apple for maintaining non-destructive workflow.