Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac Pro Fans run extremely high!

Hello,

I'm a video editor working within Adobe Premiere Pro CC, and I edit all kinds of footage from DSLR all the way up to RED 5K. I have a Mac Pro (5,1), 6-Core 3.33Ghz with 32GB of DDR3 ECC 1333 MHz RAM. Also in there is a GTX 770 Graphics card with 4GB on board RAM, and a RAID controller.

The problem is that my system fans are CONSTANTLY kicking up to high gear. Whether I'm doing intensive or unintensive work with any kind of footage. It's always within premiere when they kick on. If I put the system to sleep they all go back to normal, but usually kick back on. It is terribly frustrating.

My system is out in the open, plenty of vintilation, and relatively dust-free.

Recently swtched graphics cards from a Quadro 4000 to this GTX, thinking the Quadro was the culprit, but the problem persists.

I've attached two screen shots of SMC Fan Control before and after the fans kick up to full speed. I don't know anything about the layout of these fans, or what does what. I also can't seem to run Apple Hardware Test to see if everything is fine...I try pressing the D key when booting up, but it just regularly starts up. Any other way to test the hardware?

User uploaded fileUser uploaded file

I realize the graphics card will heat things up a bit, but this still seems abnormal. Can anybody help me troubleshoot? Or at least provide an explanation of the fan layout of the Mac Pro, or list some recommended fan speeds? I just can't seem to figure this thing out.

Thank you so much.

Mac Pro (Mid 2010), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), 6-Core 3.33Ghz with 32GB of RAM

Posted on Aug 10, 2013 1:54 PM

25 replies

Aug 10, 2013 1:56 PM in response to beauleland