Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Do I need iCloud or a Home Network??

I have limited knowledge computers so please bear with my if my questions are somewhat stupid.

I have a desktop PC and a MacBook laptop computer and use both for my work. I would like to keep all my work docs sycronised on both computers. At the moment I often find myself working on one of the computers but the document I need is on the other. It's very frustrating.

What is the solution? Do i store all my docs on iCloud? Or can I store them on a home network (whatever that is!)?

Many thanks

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Aug 16, 2013 4:39 AM

12 replies

Aug 16, 2013 4:48 AM in response to LibertyEnglish

iCloud will only sync iWork and TextEdit documents, so if you are using other programs it's not suitable anyway.

If you set up a home network, you can access the contents of one computer from the other computer quite easily. If each is connected to the internet using a router (such as Airport or a wireless Hub from your ISP) you already have a network, so you just need to set up File Sharing. The method described here was written for Snow Leopard but I assume it is much the same on Lion.

File Sharing in Mac OSX

Aug 16, 2013 6:29 AM in response to LibertyEnglish

Use SugarSync for this task, slower than Rogers suggestion but it works in the background, once you set it up no more is needed from you. It's free (up to 5GB can be store/syncronized, and it works (I keep 5 machines, Mac PC and IOS) synchronized at all times. The machines do not have to be connected to each other, just to the internet.

Aug 16, 2013 8:36 AM in response to Csound1

It might just be worth clarifying the difference between File Sharing and SugarSync.