Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Questions from a Newbie - Please Help by Responding

Okay, I just received a new iPod (30GB, black) as a gift and have a few questions.

I apologize in advance for any repeat in them (with respect to being answered in other posts), but I am confused and have a headache from trying to read all of the links provided in responses, etc. I just want to understand procedures is all. I know the questions may seem trivial, but I am a complete newbie at this iPod thing.

(1.) Could someone please explain the entire authorization/deauthorization details to me with respect to iTunes and various computers.

Specifically, if I download a song from the iTunes store on my desktop, how do I get that same file on my laptop and then authorize my laptop to play the song? From what I gathered in reading, I have to authorize my laptop to play the iTunes song downloaded on my desktop, but I do not understand how I transfer the song to the other computer's iTune software?

Do I burn files to a CD, disk, etc. and then transfer via that method and then authorize the songs in iTunes, so that the songs are in both places (desktop and laptop)? Could someone give me step-by-step instructions on this, or link to somewhere that does?

(2.) Could I have different songs on my desktop versus laptop, connect my iPod to one or the other, and send the songs to the iPod? From what I read, I believe the answer to this is yes (I believe I am permitted to connect my iPod to up to 5 different computers to load music from iTunes?).

Should I do this, do I need to authorize anything or just connect my iPod to the computer?

Thank you in advance for any response(s) offered.

Again, I apologize for reposting these questions, but I am having a hard time pulling everything together into a succinct answer I can follow.

Sincerely,

wkkunkle

Windows XP Pro

Posted on Jun 16, 2006 7:20 PM