Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Connecting a NAS in Mac OS X

I'm having real trouble in connecting to my QNAP NAS 2190P, over a wireless network, under Mac OS X. I previously used Windows, and mapping to the network drives was extremely straightforward under Windows. I cannot seem to be able to set up a permanent connection to the drives on the NAS on the Mac. If I manage to log in to the drive, when I restart the system the connection is lost and I have to manually reconnect, by using the Go > Connect to Server menu pathway. There are sometimes multiple options listed under Shared in the Finder, but not all will allow a connection. As I'm new to the Mac (or at least, I have not used a Mac for some years), I am finding this a very unexpected frustration. I would appreciate the assistance of anyone with a similar setup.

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Aug 20, 2013 11:51 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 20, 2013 11:55 AM

Once you've authenticated/connected to a shared volume, you can drag it from the Desktop to your Login Items list to have it automatically reconnect on login. Open System Preferences - Users and Groups - click on your user and click Login Items. You'll want to make sure you save any password in the keychain when you first connect.

Matt

17 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 20, 2013 11:55 AM in response to Keith Wilson