Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how to reset to factory spec

I have taken over a family computer which runs on Leopard OS. Unfortunately I was not given any discs and I find it is password protected (which I do not know) I would like to upgrade to snow leopard and hopefully wipe clean the hard drive so starting afresh. Is it possible to do this without the original installation discs? I have never used a mac before and dont know how to go about getting a replacement original disc. If I buy snow leopard would this do it for me and wipe the hard drive or do I still need a disc. HELP!!!!!!!!!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Aug 26, 2013 3:50 AM

3 replies

Aug 26, 2013 10:04 AM in response to thistlebank

First, you need to verify if the machine will run snow leopard. you need an intel machine to run snow leopard.

You may want to post machine info.

blue apple > about this mac > more info button. Click on the hardware line. It has a little triangle in front of the word hardware.

Leave out the serial number.

Example:

Machine Name: iMac

Machine Model: PowerMac4,1

CPU Type: PowerPC 750 (33.11)

Number Of CPUs: 1

CPU Speed: 600 MHz

L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB

Memory: 768 MB

Bus Speed: 100 MHz

Boot ROM Version: 4.1.9f1

--------------------------------------------------------------

Get the Mac to set up an additional administrative account. You can then change the password on your old account.

Start with your computer power off. Hold down command-s. Power on your computer.

Type in the following:

The first two commands will depend on your release of Mac OS X. Look at what is typed out in the console to determine the exact format.

# Type the follow two instructions to access the startup disk in read/write. Press return after each command.

# in case of partial success repeat this command until errors go away.

/sbin/fsck -fy

/sbin/mount -uw /

cd /var/db

pwd