Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Logic Pro x (10) midi keyboard plays in wrong key

Hi there,

This is a strange problem and very confusing.

Firstly, I have been using Logic Pro 8 for many years. Recently upgraded to Logic Pro x. I run mountain lion on a late 2012 mac mini with 16gb RAM

What happens is:

When I load a LP8 project in LP10 it appears to load and play ok. However, my midi keybaord (Roland JV80) and my korg nanokey2 play the wrong note i.e. it plays a tone (two notes) too high.

1. When I playback the project plays in the correct key (both the midi and audio). I've checked this against an exported mixdown and the project when open in LP8.

2. When I play for example a 'C' note on the keyboard or nano it registers a 'C' in the control bar dispay, the same for all other notes.

3. When I go into the piano roll and click a 'C' it plays a C (i've checked this with my guitar tuner)

4. When I hit 'C' on the keyboard or nano the actual note that sounds is a Bb (again, checked this with my guitar tuner).

I have tried deleting the LP10 version and reopening several times, also deleted the files below and cleared all my cache.

com.apple.logic10.plist

com.apple.logic10.LSSharedFileList.plist

com.apple.logic.pro.plist

Sometimes this will help and it will work properly but this is only short term as often the next time i open the project the problem persists.

For example, just before writing this I tried all of the above several times and could not get it to open correctly but one time it seemed to work fine until I closed it and opened it again then the problem happened again. Also noticed that pitch bend doesn't work and so there may be other issues I'm not aware of yet.

It seems to happen randomly and to different projects. Sometimes they open ok and sometimes they don't.

Haven't been able to find anything like this problem on the net yet so any help would be very much appreciated.