Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Airport Time Capsule ethernet (and more) connection problem

I am a newbie to Macs and have bought an 27” iMac and an Airport Time Capsule 3TB (the new high slim version).

I gather there are three different ways to make the TC work:

directly via ethernet

wirelessly without connecting the TC to the modem/router

wirelessly connecting the TC to the modem/router

WIRELESS NOT PLUGGED IN:

Yesterday I tried to set it up wirelessly but without connecting the TC to the modem from my ISP.

It worked (sort of). The setup procedure (or maybe I...) set up a different network. I could connect to that and make a backup (the first ever) wirelessly via Time Machine, but I would have no access to the internet while doing it. With 700 GB to backup it was not my preferred solution and I terminated the backup.

I could get my internet connection back selecting my “old” network and then I could not see the TC. I tried various hints gleaned from here and elsewhere, but I could not change that and decided to go ethernet only.

ETHERNET:

Today I have tried to connect the TC directly to the iMac with an ethernet cable, but I cannot get the iMac to see the TC via the cable. Whenever I turn on the TC it is available in the “Finder” as shared. It does not show up on the desktop even though I have set it to do so.

As a former Windows user I cannot understand why the TC does not show up as a disk when connecting via ethernet. I have tried moving the ethernet connection on top - that did not solve anything. Using my infinite abilities to make things go awry it does not show up as a wireless option any longer.

WIRELESS PLUGGED IN:

I have also tried this, but during the setup procedure the Airport Utility cannot find the TC then. It awaits response and then terminates after a while.

I stand in quicksand with concrete boots on ;-(

WHAT I NEED (would settle for):