Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Image Name - Necessary?

I learned PP -- sort of -- on LightRoom 5. I chucked the program, along with DxO, because of the way it is organized. But I really got an education about allowing the database to organize your library of images. In other words, no filenames. That really opened by eyes.

I started with folder>folder>folder>file name. The date on the folder led me through the path.

Scott Kelby's book on LR convinced me to throw all 1900 of my images into the Pictures folder and then retrieve them selectively after quick searches.

The Aperture method of Projects in the Library leads to the same workflow. I think. But within one specific Album or Book or Vault is there a need to name individual shots?

I have an agenda. I'm just starting out with AP, and want to impose savvy organization before I build up too many images in the Library.

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), running an iMac

Posted on Aug 31, 2013 12:54 PM

5 replies

Sep 2, 2013 6:31 AM in response to daikambu65

daikambu65 wrote:

Let's assume I shoot 450 images at a wedding. It is practical or productive to give names to any of them? Other than the camera generated DSC ######?

If doing that enhances your workflow then the answer is yes, if not then it is no. Only you can answer if it is productive or practical to name the images.

Think of naming the original and/or versions produced from that original as adding one more bit of data to the image similar to keywords or ratings or comments. It's another way to make it easier to find and organize your library.

Sep 2, 2013 6:32 AM in response to daikambu65

There are several topics in digital photography which invoke passionate responses. For example; Aperture vs. Lightroom, Canon vs. Nikon, RAW vs. JPEG.