Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

charging iphone

I am having trouble lately when I plug my iPhone 5 to charge it. Sometimes it seems to work and sometimes it does not want to charge at all. I work in IT and have access to numerous new cables (lightning to USB) and Apple 5w USB power adapter. For almost the first 10 months I had no problems. Then it started when I would plug in the Lightning to USB cable it would not charge and I would unplug it and then flip it over and plug it back in and it would charge. Now I have to switch cables and or USB power adapters around before it eventually charges. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Jefre

Posted on Sep 1, 2013 4:04 PM

8 replies

Sep 3, 2013 6:22 AM in response to jefre

Hey guys... Wanted to give everyone an update. I made an appointment at the local Genius Bar and everything is working great. It seems that maybe I got some lent in the port which prevented the lighting cable from sitting properly which I am told is with no gap so the cable and phone should be flush in order to properly charge.

Maybe I need a better case. But good to know it was not anything horrible.

Good luck and hope everyone has a simple fix like mine. Just take it in and a few minutes later Apple will have it all cleaned out and working.

Jefre

Jan 5, 2014 9:13 AM in response to jefre

I just had the same problem and read all the forum advise:

I fixed mine with the following solution: