Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I set an ImageWell in Xcode Cocoa-Applescript?

I'm making a little Cocoa-Applescript application in Xcode, and I'm completely new at this. So my questions are:

• What are the steps, in order, to set an image into the ImageWell, if the image was named "Image.png"?
  • What are the codes to add to the AppDelegate.applescript?

Any help is appretiated, and thanks in advance.

Posted on Sep 2, 2013 6:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 2, 2013 7:36 AM

The business end of an image well is an NSImageView - the various class references usually have links in the Interface Editor's Quick Help inspector.

The method you are looking for is setImage, but since it uses an NSImage, you will need to create one first by allocating and intitializing it. Assuming that your image well outlet is named myImageWell, you can do something like the following:

set theImage to current application's NSImage's alloc's initWithContentsOfFile_("/path/to/Image.png") myImageWell's setImage_(theImage)

For future reference, you might want to trim your tag list a bit to those relevant to the particular topic. There are also Developer and OS X Technologies communities that have a more relevant audience for these kinds of topics.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 2, 2013 7:36 AM in response to Apple_For_The_Win

The business end of an image well is an NSImageView - the various class references usually have links in the Interface Editor's Quick Help inspector.

The method you are looking for is setImage, but since it uses an NSImage, you will need to create one first by allocating and intitializing it. Assuming that your image well outlet is named myImageWell, you can do something like the following: