Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't connect to wifi at home on MacBook Pro or iPhone 4S

I recently moved and got set up with a new (cable) internet provider. Since that time, I have been unable to connect to wireless on my MacBook Pro or my iPhone 4S. I can connect via ethernet. I can connect via other people's wireless (coffee shops, library, etc.). Sometimes, I get a "connection timeout error occurred" message. Other times, it looks like wifi is connected, but when I try to visit a URL on a browser, the blue bar moves about a centimeter across the address bar and stops. Email doesn't work, etc. The technician who set up my internet tried for nearly three hours to figure out why it wasn't working and concluded it must be a problem with my computer. It seems odd that I would only have problems at home, but I'm not an expert. Hoping someone here is, and can help. I work from home so this is rather frustrating (especially since connecting via ethernet means sitting in the living room instead of my office and tempting the dog to trip on the cord). Thanks for reading!

MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Sep 2, 2013 9:18 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 2, 2013 10:35 AM

What is the make & model of the new wireless router that you ISP has provided you? Are you able to administer it if needed?

For the MacBook Pro, try the following, in order, until (hopefully) resolved:

1a. Delete Preferred Network(s)

• System Preferences > Network > Wi-Fi > Advanced > Wi-Fi tab
  • Under "Preferred Networks," delete the network(s) you regularly use from the list.

1b. Delete AirPort Keychain Entries

• Launch the "Keychain Access" application located in Applications/Utilties.
  • In the windows on the left side: Select login for Keychains and "All Items" for Category.