Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to Install CA Code Signing Certificate for Profile Manager

Go easy on me. I am a Windows Server Admin, and got thrown into this. We have a Mac Mini runnjing OS is OS X 10.8.4, and the server version is 2.2.1. I am trying to setup Profile Manager as an MDM for iPhones. I am absolutely stuck trying to get a 3rd party Code Signing Certificate installed. I've looked all over the internet, and have come up with nothing.

Can someone point me to step by step instructions for installing a Trusted (not Self-Signed) Code Signing Certificate for Profile Manager?

One was generated with GoDaddy by another person, but never installed. I tried downloading it, and there are two file type options DER and PEM. Dragging either of those into the Certificate import box does nothing. At this point, I probably need to start over from scratch, and really learn the process.

Thanks,

Michael

Mac mini, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), Server 2.2.1

Posted on Sep 4, 2013 1:32 PM

5 replies

Sep 5, 2013 8:00 AM in response to Michael4000

You probably don't have the private key. If you have a cert file with a .p12 ending that should contain the key as well as the cert. It may be in the Keychain Access app on your server or maybe the original guys machine that requested it. The key is also probably password protected so you will need that password. It's bad practice but sometimes people don't put a password on the key, you might get lucky.

I haven't used GoDaddy they may have tools on their site to redownload the cert in the format you want. .p12 works best on the Mac but any cert format can be converted to what you want.