Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to automate a plug-in

Hi all

I'm just starting to find my way around Aperture now and really getting to grips with the basics. I've got the Nik collection of software which I'm finding makes the combination great for a hobby photographer.

I've recently seen someone using darkroom with the Nik collection, and he's been able to setup a shortcut key to send a picture into a plugin (eg ndefine), have it do its stuff, then return. It all seemed so seamless and straight forward.

Is something like this possible in Aperture? I've hunted around and it looks like it maybe, by using automator/apple script, but given I'm a newbie, i'm not sure.

Could anyone give any suggestions on what to try?

Many thanks in advanace

Richard

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Sep 6, 2013 2:51 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 6, 2013 4:00 PM

Richard...Click on Aperture's "Photos" menu, then "Edit With Plug-in". A sub-menu with all of Aperture's installed plug-ins will appear. If the Nik Collection was installed properly, you should see it as one of the choices.

If your Nik modules are there, clicking one will first create a new TIF version and pass it to the selected Nik module. When you are done with the Nik edit, the plug-in should return you to Aperture and the TIFF version will contain your adjustments made in Nik.

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 6, 2013 4:00 PM in response to Frewinr

Richard...Click on Aperture's "Photos" menu, then "Edit With Plug-in". A sub-menu with all of Aperture's installed plug-ins will appear. If the Nik Collection was installed properly, you should see it as one of the choices.