Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My own Battery Drain Issues on iPhone 5

Hello guys, I've just created an account here to share my many issues with iPhone 5.

Well, this wasn't my Apple's 1st product, as I've had Ipod touch 2g and 3g, as well as an iPhone 3g. But it's my first time experiencing crazy battery issues with an Apple product, wich is really sad and disappoint, since this is the MOST expensive cell phone in my country (Brazil).

It all started about a week after I bought my iPhone 5. One morning I was on the bus, going to work, and my iPhone had about 99% battery remaining. 1h20 later, when I arrived at work, I had about 80% battery, so I panicked.

Suddenly I realized I was a victim of the common i5 battery drain. I was loosing 1% battery each 3~5 minutes IN STAND BY. And my settings are the same as they've ever been: wi-fi off, 3G off, 4G off (since it's not available in Brazil), brightness on minimum, no weak cell phone coverage etc. So, I shouldn't be experiencing this at all.

After reading lots of threads around the web, I realized that the ONLY solution to this would RESET AND START YOUR IPHONE AS A NEW ONE. No backups, no deleting apps and data. Sometimes removing email accounts would work, but as I didn't use this stuff, restarting my phone seemed to be the solution.

So I did it and, apparently, my problems were solved. My phone has worked perfectly for 2+ months. And then I let it fully discharge - but it's was not the first time it' happened. After I recharged for 4h, I started loosing battery really fast again, so the battery drain have came back. It was so frustrating.

Then I sent my iphone to an authorized reseller and they manage to give me a new replacement phone. They've checked my old i5 and detected a battery issue. My charger and cable were also tested but they were ok.