Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 5S 64 bit and storage amount. Since it is 64 bit will I need a larger storage size ie apps be larger?

I have been wonderingabout the 64 bit chip on the iPhone 5S and the resultant changing of apps going to 64 bit. I am not a developer but it seems to reason that 64 bit apps may indeed be larger in filesize than 32 bit apps or perhaps smaller. I am not certain. My previous phone is 32GB and since we are looking forward with 64 bit I am wondering if 32GB may be too small and I should go for the 64GB model. I wish Apple would design in SD micro for storage limit scenarios. Anyway, I appreciate any thoughts. Thank you!

iPhone 5, iOS 6

Posted on Sep 16, 2013 9:47 PM

5 replies

Sep 16, 2013 10:35 PM in response to matrixxzero

The reference to 64 bit processor in the new phone has to do with the way the main computer chip deals with its processing job and nothing to do with storage size. The main computer chip now processes its data in chunks or words that are 64 bits wide as against 32 bits computer words in the previous computer chip. The reference to 32 GB or giga bytes has to do with the size of the flash memory storage. You will have enough storage to deal with any app that you might care to download unless of course you fill up the 32 GB of stargaze which is unlikely. Read this article it explains what is meant by 64 bit processing

Sep 16, 2013 10:39 PM in response to matrixxzero