Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Powerbook G4 + Belkin F5D7010 card

I'm having problems with a Powerbook G4 500 MHz in combination with a Belkin F5D7010 pcmcia card. When I insert the card, the system hangs. I cant' move the mouse, can't press any keys. When I remove the card after the hang, the system works back.

The card isn't detected at any time. Other PC cards do work.

Since the card is based on a Broadcom BCM4306 chipset it should work. An other PCMCIA card from Belkin doesn't work too (it worked on a Powerbook G4 550, but can't use that portable anymore).

Card is not broken, works in my Windows laptop.

System is updated with all updates and aiport updates.

What can I do? I'm not a mac expert but have lots of experience in Windows systems and not afraid of digging deep in the system.

Many thanks!

Powerbook G4, Mac OS X (10.4.6)

Posted on Jun 25, 2006 3:57 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 25, 2006 7:40 AM

Hi, timkerger, and welcome to Apple Discussions. I've read in several past posts here that Belkin has made different versions of some of its wireless cards that bear the same model number, and that these different revisions may in some cases require different drivers. I recommend avoiding Belkin cards, because Belkin provides no Mac support at all for its products, and doesn't identify them clearly enough so you can tell what you're buying.

You may want to have a look at this page and see whether it provides any clues for you.
7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 25, 2006 7:40 AM in response to timkerger