Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

migration assistant, time capsule and console

I'v read so many questions and posts about Migration Assistant that I'm truly sorry to post yet another I've used Migration Assistant many times with never an issue, but yesterday, I tried to Migrate from a 2 year old fully updated MacBook Air 13 inch laptop to a newer model of the same computer. After trying everything possible I contacted Apple Care and was down to the option of manually moving things one by one to the newer computer.

I also tried to make a Time Machine Backup of the older computer and the three times I tried to do so it did the same thing as MIgration Assitant; it basically just froze at some point and stopped making any progress.

While I'd appreciate any tips, comments, ideas or suggestions the main purpose of my post is about Console. I'm not very technical and am proud to be able to do the limited things that I do on a computer. Several times I've looked at Console and while I certainly couldn't ever understand the things that I saw there, the content certainly seemed to be relevant to what was going on in the computer.

Since I plan to let one of my kids use the 2 year old MacBook Air, if I ever get to finish migrating, moving or whatever, I'd like to know what's wrong with the computer that stops it from migrating or making backups. Does Console provide relevant diagnostic information and if so, who can interpret the information or show you how to make anything meaningful out of it?

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), Migration Assistant and Console

Posted on Sep 22, 2013 12:10 PM

3 replies

Sep 22, 2013 12:46 PM in response to Consigliori